COMMITTEE PROFILE: LOUISE COLLINS

LouiseCollinsBlogPic

Name: Louise Collins

Committee Position: Secretary

Course: Bachelor of Nursing Science (Psychiatric) 2012

Was 2015 your first IHSA Conference? No, my first was Galway 2012. I knew nothing of IHSA and was quickly swept into the organising committee as the Chief Organiser had become injured a week before the Conference!

What attracted you to IHSA and An Cumann Staire? I initially joined An Cumann Staire in 2011 as a result of a group of friends dragging me along to a ‘boring’ History lecture in NUIG. As a Nursing student I had little interest in History, but a few short months later I found myself turning up to most of the lectures, events and social gatherings and going forward for a position on committee. My opinion was completely turned around and I wanted to get as involved in An Cumann Staire as possible. This lead also to my involvement with IHSA, which is primarily behind the scenes in an organisational and supportive capacity. 2015 will be my 4th IHSA Conference.

Best Memory of the Conferences? Someone really confused asking me where ‘The Arts Millennium Building’ (NUIG) was. They were standing in it and had just given their paper and of course, our gatherings at Costello’s of Limerick.

What are you looking forward to most about Galway 2016? Catching up with friends whom I see once a year or so at IHSA Conferences.

Leave a Reply

